Friday, March 25, 2011

Spices

"We" did some research this week on spices - we were looking particularly at ground spices such as ginger, cinnamon, and nutmeg. We found the following info by contacting the manufacturers:

- No-name brand spices: these are made on lines that also see gluten on them. So not guaranteed gluten-free.

-McCormick's: (from their website, under "contact us")
"None of our single ingredient spices and herbs contain gluten. In addition, all of our extracts, including Pure Vanilla, are gluten-free. Some of our products do contain gluten. When WHEAT is the source, it will always be called out within the ingredient statement, and listed in bold.
We do not maintain a list of gluten-free products, as our formulas change from time to time."

We found the McCormick spices at Superstore.

3 Comments:

Blogger The Maven said...

Nice to see a local GF blog - and some information on spices. I'm fairly new to this way of eating, so I can use all the help I can get. I'll keep checking back. Thanks!

7:54 AM  
Blogger Bhakti Connection said...

All the Arayuma spices at Rainbow Natural Foods are all certified Organic, Fair trade and Gluten Free

Jr.

8:51 AM  
Blogger Kelly Remington said...

Just been contaminated by no name paprika spices. Made and egg salad sandwich homemade with my own homemade gf bread. I recommend to stay away from no name spices.

6:20 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home